top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJade Larson

Who am I: Communication Theory of Identity

Seminal Research

Hecht, M. L. (1993). 2002--A research odyssey: Toward the development of a communication theory of identity. Communication Monographs, 60, 76–82. doi:10.1080/03637759309376297


 

The communication theory of identity focuses on the individual and the defining characteristics of who they are. The basis of this theory can be observed through multiple realms to define these characteristics such as the individual's feelings about themselves, their communication and interactions, the relationships they hold, and lastly the community each individual surrounds themselves with (Hecht, 1993). All of these factors play a role in how each craft who they are, how they express themselves, and how they communicate. For example, a major part of my identity is how I identify politically. As a conservative in a commonly liberal field I have had to overcome feelings about myself and the relationships I have formed. This theory has a high heuristic value because of this vast amount of different identity factors. It could propel several different areas of research. Although there are several different aspects to a person's identity this theory is rather simplistic, but still has a wide theoretical scope. Identity is becoming more and more of a conversation topic as our acceptance of intersectionality in our society increases. This emphasizes the importance of understanding this communication theory.



I study this theory because for many years I have struggled with my identity. I have found myself wavering on my identity and how I communicate based on the people I surround myself with. Studying this theory from a professional aids communication and socialization that are heavily dictated by our identity. Understanding communication theory of identity is pertinent to anyone working in diverse environments because communication across identity and culture could impact work culture.

 

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page